User Groups

User Groups

Post by kris » Thu, 21 Aug 2003 01:04:57


I was trying to set up some user groups on my computer -
I had just been running as administrator - and had made a
folder private. I accidentally created another
administrator account, and now cannot log on as the old
administrator. I no longer have access to files that I
made private. How do I go back to the way the computer
was set up originally (get rid of the user groups)? Any
help is greatly appreciated.
 
 
 

User Groups

Post by Doug Knox » Thu, 21 Aug 2003 08:21:18

See Help and Support and search for "take ownership"

HOW TO: Take Ownership of a File or Folder in Windows XP
http://www.yqcomputer.com/

To access the built in Administrator account, press CTRL-ALT-DEL twice at
the Welcome Screen, with no other users logged in. Enter Administrator and
whatever password you assigned. Also, see www.dougknox.com, Win XP
Utilities, Enable Administrator on the Welcome Screen to put the
Administrator account back on the Welcome Screen.

--
Doug Knox, MS-MVP Windows XP/ Windows Smart Display
Win 95/98/Me/XP Tweaks and Fixes
http://www.yqcomputer.com/
--------------------------------
Associate Expert
ExpertZone - http://www.yqcomputer.com/
--------------------------------
Please reply only to the newsgroup so all may benefit.
Unsolicited e-mail is not answered.

 
 
 

User Groups

Post by Ramesh [MS » Tue, 07 Oct 2003 23:46:17

Problem 1: For automatic logon:

Solution 1:
Click Start, Run and type "control userpasswords2", and click Ok.
Uncheck "Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer"
option, and click Ok.

Solution 2:
If you have one user account and no password configured, Windows XP will log
you in automatically. Otherwise, you'll have to do the following:
Obtain and install the Windows XP version of TweakUI.

Download it from here:
http://www.yqcomputer.com/

Open TweakUI (it's in Start -> Programs -> Powertoys for Windows XP).
Expand the Logon branch, and click Autologon.
Turn on the Log on automatically at system startup option, type your
username and password, and click Ok.


Problem 2:
Welcome screen appears after the system has been idle (prevent)
http://www.yqcomputer.com/

(*`)).`
............. Ramesh ............... (( *`.`

~ Please reply to newsg<oup ~




my computer now requires me to click on a user each time
I log on or each time the computer is idle. I am the
only user on this computer. can i delete all user groups
and remedy this? I do not want to have to deal with user
groups. thanks.