I believe there is a better explanation for Frank:
I've also seen where there is a file called desktop.ini in that folder, that
has a set of entries in it, like this:
Even from a network share, this folder shows up as "aegibson's Documents".
Renaming the folder to anything other than :My Documents, will rename the
folder, but the behavior comes back as soon as you rename it back to the
PersonalizedName= name, it renames itself. This is probably your problem.
This file is a hidden, system file, so you need to be able to see hidden and
protected operating system files in order to see it. You can remove that
section, and it will revert to the default behavior, or even delete it. Not
sure if anything truly refers back to it - I would be safe, delete the