File and print sharing OK?

File and print sharing OK?

Post by Larr » Wed, 25 May 2005 04:04:09


I recently did a fresh install of Win XP Prof, put in SP2.

I removed file and print sharing and the client for microsoft
networks as a security measure per Steve Gibson (grc.com)
recomendation.

But, When I go into control panel, Administrative tools,
computer management, local users and groups, users, select a user
right click, select properties, select the tab
member of, I get:

"The workstation service has not been started."

when I go into services, there is no workstation service.

I have been told that I should install file and print sharing, and
microsoft client for networks to fix this.

that the Client for Microsoft Networks component is actually the
Workstation service.

"Removing Client for Microsoft Networks Removes Other Services"
http://www.yqcomputer.com/ ;en-us;322267

And that the File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks is the
Server service (lanmanserver).
and that the Server service won't be listed in Services if File and
Printer Sharing is disabled.

But isn't this a security problem as Steve Gibson suggests?
Or is his advice no longer applicable to Win XP.

I will be running ZoneAlarm, if that makes any difference.

Thank You for any help you can give me,

Larry
 
 
 

File and print sharing OK?

Post by Patrick Su » Fri, 22 Jul 2005 04:40:48

Removing Client for Microsoft Networks Removes Other Services"
http://www.yqcomputer.com/ ;en-us;322267

The article above refers to MS Small Business Server, not Winxp.

 
 
 

File and print sharing OK?

Post by Jbob » Tue, 02 Aug 2005 05:38:42

I'm gonna have to go reread what Steve says but I don't think he said to not
load or remove the MS Client. His recommendations are about "Binding" or
"Unbinding" the services. If you plan on networking I'm pretty sure you
have to have the MS client installed. I don't think you can establish any
network conection without it, even dialup. I could be wrong though.

One thing you might try in case is to go to any Folder Options window,
select "View" and go to the bottom and uncheck "Use simple file sharing" and
see if that fixes your issue.