Automatic approval only happens when the updates sync. In WSUS3, you should
run the approval rule manually once so that updates that have already
syncronized will be approved. In WSUS2 you don't have that manual option.
You can decline updates and you can use the cleanup wizard, but it all
depends on what you really mean by delete.
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.