Deleted Item in Deleted Items Folder won't delete--causing Entourage to crash

Deleted Item in Deleted Items Folder won't delete--causing Entourage to crash

Post by jmsong2 » Mon, 25 Oct 2004 06:12:56


There is an item in my Deleted Items Folder that will not delete. I
see it in my folder view, but when select the folder to look at the
item, there's nothing there. Sometimes, when I try to select the
folder, the whole program closes out. Does anyone know how I can
delete the item or how I can re-synch/clear out the folder? Thanks.
 
 
 

Deleted Item in Deleted Items Folder won't delete--causing Entourage to crash

Post by Anan » Tue, 26 Oct 2004 23:39:31

Hi,

You can try two things.
1.) Disable the preview pane and try to delete the item.
2.)Since you are telling that the program closes when you select that folder
I also suspect the database. Try to rebuild the database once. (You can do
this by holding the Option Key when you launch Entourage).

Anand P

 
 
 

Deleted Item in Deleted Items Folder won't delete--causing Entourage to crash

Post by Barry Wain » Mon, 01 Nov 2004 07:15:42

On 23/10/04 10:12 pm, in article
XXXX@XXXXX.COM , "Treehouse"



It is possibly an early sign of mild database corruption.

Office vX:
Hold down the option key when starting Entourage and take the first option
('typical rebuild'). If this doesn resolve the problems, then try an
dvanced Rebuild

Office 2004:
You still call the rebuilder by holding down Option key at launch, but it
now brings up a separate app "Database Utility" (which could be launched by
double-clicking of you wish) that lives in the Office subfolder.

First of all, if you have any Office apps open, a dialog comes up that
offers to quit them.

Then you get a window with a list of your identities to select from, and
four options:

1) It has a new feature "Verify database integrity" option: this should
reduce unnecessary rebuilding. Apparently it's quite sensitive. And see 4)
below.

2) "Compact the database". (Like X's "Typical rebuild").

3) Rebuild the database. (Like X's "Advanced Rebuild")

4) "Set database preferences". Actually there's only one pref: you can turn
on "Verify database in background "which means "run automatically" and let
you know if your database needs rebuilding.





--
Barry Wainwright
Microsoft MVP (see http://www.yqcomputer.com/ for details)
Seen the All-New Entourage Help Pages? - Check them out:
<< http://www.yqcomputer.com/ >>