Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by GeorgeCarv » Fri, 25 Apr 2008 00:57:12


Version: 2004
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard)
Processor: intel
Email Client: pop

Im migrating from XP/Outlook to Mac/Entourage.

In Outlook I can hold down the shift key and press delete and the message is truely deleted, not sent to the DELETED folder.

Any way to do that here?
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by Diane Ros » Fri, 25 Apr 2008 07:03:51

On 4/23/08 8:57 12AM, in article XXXX@XXXXX.COM ,



Use the Nuke Messages script. Assign a short cut to the script.

Nuke Messages:

< http://www.yqcomputer.com/ ;

How-To add a shortcut to a script:

< http://www.yqcomputer.com/ ;

--
Diane

 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by GeorgeCarv » Thu, 01 May 2008 22:14:21

Thanks, Diane. The script works great. However, I can't get the keyboard shortcuts to work. I read the page you provided. The script came with \cmD attached to the end of the name and those keystrokes show on the menu. I also tried adding it through System Preferences. No Go. Some special o/s x 10.5 issue?
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by Diane Ros » Fri, 02 May 2008 07:50:14


First, have you upgraded to 10.5.2? If not do so immediately using the combo
updater.

Mac OS X 10.5.2 Combo Update

< http://www.yqcomputer.com/ ;

Run Repair Permissions:
1. Open Disk Utility in your Applications/Utility folder.
2. Click on the First Aid tab and select Repair Permissions
3. Click on the icon for your boot volume.
4. Click the repair permissions button.

Don't run from CD. Updates contain a newer versions of the application's
permissions.

Next create a new User in System Preferences. Log out/in and see if the
shortcuts stick in Entourage. Drag the script to the Shared folder for
access in the new User. If it works, you next need to test your Identity.
Drag it to Shared and then to the Microsoft User Data folder in the new
User. See if it works now. If yes, then the problem is in your User's
folder, in not , then it's your Identity. Rebuild your database.

--
Diane
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by GeorgeCarv » Sat, 03 May 2008 03:25:39

Thanks. Lots of stuff here.

I did the repair permissions part. It found lots of problems to fix. Ran it a second time and it ran clearn.

As for the next part, there's lots of messing around there all to the same end: Rebuild your database. Why not just do that?

Also, I haven't been "in" this machine for more than a week. so perhaps I screwed something up near the beginning. Should I just restore the thing from the disks that came with it and start over? If so, the only data I don't know how to save is the Entourage data. What's the best way to do that?
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by Diane Ros » Sat, 03 May 2008 06:10:18


An "Archive & Install" will get you close to an "Erase & Install". This
saves your data. You might have to enter some registration info again, but
all in all it's pretty painless.

Archive and Install

1) Insert the Mac OS X Install Disc and double-click the Install Mac OS X
icon.

2) Follow the onscreen instructions. In the pane where you select the
destination disk, select your current Mac OS X disk (in most cases, it will
be the only one available).

3) Click Options. If you want to save your existing files, users, and
network settings, select rchive and Install,and then select reserve
Users and Network Settings.If you want to erase everything on your
computer and reinstall Mac OS X, select rase and Install.You can
recover erased data.

4) Click Continue.

5) Click Customize to select which parts of Mac OS X you like to install,
or click Install to perform a basic installation (recommended).


Once the install has finished, your system will be at whatever level the
disk you have is. So if your Install DVD/CD disk is 10.5.0, that's what
version of OS will be on your Mac. You will need to download the appropriate
Combo Updater from Apple's site to restore the system to a higher version.
After you run the combo, allow Software Update to download and install any
additional updates.

Since you are new, read this page about the different types of installers. <
< http://www.yqcomputer.com/ ;ml>

I have a few tips and links posted to help new users here: <
< http://www.yqcomputer.com/ ;ml>

--
Diane
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by GeorgeCarv » Sat, 03 May 2008 11:17:43

Thanks. I think that I replied in another thread that I didn't know what "Archive and Install" was, but saw that before this one.

My disc say they are 10.5.2 -- which is what came on the machine.

I think I want to do a complete erase and install. I suspect that some uninformed choices I made when I first got the machine put me where I am now. I'm also thinking that if use the same login name that is used on the company domain then networking will be easier.

My plan is to...
1. export the Entourage data
2. copy the Entourage export data as well as all Word, Excel, pictures, etc., to a DVD.
3. Erase and reinstall the o/s

Make sense?
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by Diane Ros » Sat, 03 May 2008 12:46:51


I would also copy your entire Documents folder and your User's Library. Even
if you start everything new, this will give you the opportunity to go into
files like your Dictionary file for Office and copy the info into the new
install.

You Entourage data is in the Microsoft User Data folder located in your
Documents folder. You could just drag your Identity back and see if it
worked, thus saving you having to start over. Of course if it doesn't work,
you've lost no time.

Do you have an external drive? If not, this sure would make this easier and
could be used for backups after the transfer process.

--
Diane
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by GeorgeCarv » Sat, 03 May 2008 23:00:44

Well, it's been interesting so far. When I tried to export the messages I was told there was a database error and to use the database utility.
I did so. Verify reported no errors. But i did a rebuild any way. After the rebuild, the export succeeded.
So, I tried what causes the crashes. Still happened, though "maybe" not quite as often.
The way I produce the crash is to use the down or up arrow keys to move rapidly from message to message. At some point after 5 to 15 taps of the arrow key Entourage crashes. Never on the same message.
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by GeorgeCarv » Sat, 03 May 2008 23:01:51

That said, I note you suggest just moving the contents of the Microsoft User Data Folder back in after the rebuild. Won't I just be importing the problems again?
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by GeorgeCarv » Sun, 04 May 2008 01:53:29

Copied off my data to a portable disk.
Did an erase and re-install. My disc is 10.5.2.
I'm not sure if the default choice for the disk was case sensitive or case insensitive, but I think I choose case insensitive. (This may matter later.)
After the install it did it's own software update.
After that I attempted to do your combination update. I got a message that says, "You cannot install Mac OS X Update Combined on this volume. This volumne does not meet the requirements for this update.
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by Diane Ros » Sun, 04 May 2008 08:47:26


I have always selected Mac OS Extended (Journaled). The case sensitive parts
are unfamiliar to me. I suggest doing some research on this now while it's
easier to fix than later when you have a lot of data and perhaps problems
because of this.


Is your install DVD actually 10.5.2? Usually, they are all the initial
release version. Regardless, the combo updater should work.

The fact that you cannot install the combo updater makes me suspicious. I
would call my Apple reseller and talk to support.

--
Diane
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by Diane Ros » Sun, 04 May 2008 08:48:02


Like I said, it's worth a try.

--
Diane
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by Diane Ros » Sun, 04 May 2008 09:04:07


Just found this:

There is a known time-zone related issue on case-sensitive file systems with
both Entourage 2004 and 2008.

--
Diane
 
 
 

Delete, delete, oh, but for a delete

Post by GeorgeCarv » Tue, 06 May 2008 05:10:26

So maybe it came from the factory case sensitive, and now it's not. I have had only one Entourage crash in the past several days, and that when I quit.