In article <BB7A2D12.1BC7% XXXX@XXXXX.COM >,
Just some random speculation, since I have *no* clue as to how track
changes is actually implemented...
I had thought that the User would be picked up by Word on opening
via the Office components (User information is kept in the registry
If some other application (e.g., Erage) tickled the user info, might
Word detect the change, whereby the "unknown user" would be
Closing and reopening a document wouldn't cause Word to resynch, but
closing and opening the app would, which corresponds to your
That would at least give something to test - Do you have multiple
users in Erage, and does it occur after changing users? I don't have
multiple users set up on this machine or I'd test it myself...
Again, that's pretty wild speculation.