Windows Vista Ultimate forgets user settings on login to Domain

Windows Vista Ultimate forgets user settings on login to Domain

Post by Qm9iIEh1cH » Sat, 19 Jan 2008 09:05:01


This question is on a clean install of Windows Vista Ultimate x64.

The Local Administrator account created during initial installation is
working fine.

I have connected the computer account and logged in to the proper domain on
the network. The login worked and created a new account on the computer for
the domain user. The problem I am having is that when the domain user logs
off, all documents and settings he created are lost. Upon next login, it is
as if this user were brand new on the computer.

The Domain User is shown as a member of the Administrators group (which he
should be) on the local computer so permissions should not be a problem.

Any ideas? I'm tearing my hair out and I don't have much to lose.

Bob Hupp
Information Systems Specialist
City of Truth or Consequences, NM
 
 
 

Windows Vista Ultimate forgets user settings on login to Domain

Post by TWlrZSBTaG » Fri, 25 Jan 2008 21:25:03


I am having the same issue except I am on vista business x64 edition, apart
from that exactly the same symptoms, I have had it in XP and I seem to recall
something about active directory being the issue, went and had a poke around
but couldnt see anything glaringly obvious in there?

any help would be very much appreciated.

Mike Sharp

 
 
 

Windows Vista Ultimate forgets user settings on login to Domain

Post by TWlrZSBTaG » Fri, 25 Jan 2008 22:56:01

Cracked it, well for me anyway.

check the AD account for the user you are experiencing the problem with, on
the "member of" tab within AD check to see if Guest, or Domain Guest is in
the list, if so remove them and reboot you should be fine, it worked for me
anyway. apparently if vista sees you as a memebr of a guest account it
automatically sets you up with a temp profile and deletes it on exit.

hope this helps you bob, it has been bugging me for days.