how to remove line "no scheduler allocate"

how to remove line "no scheduler allocate"

Post by Michae » Sat, 22 Jan 2005 17:30:01


Hi,

I am just trying to setup a new router, after setup wizard, there is a line
"no scheduler allocate" at the bottom lines of my new running-configration,
what's this meaning? how to reomve it?

btw, is there possible I can clear all the settings I just created with the
setup wizard so that I can reconfig it from the very beginning?

Thank you very much

Michael
 
 
 

how to remove line "no scheduler allocate"

Post by Aaron Leon » Sun, 23 Jan 2005 02:53:43


~ Hi,
~
~ I am just trying to setup a new router, after setup wizard, there is a line
~ "no scheduler allocate" at the bottom lines of my new running-configration,
~ what's this meaning? how to reomve it?

In general, you can PROBABLY remove a command from the configuration
by entering "default <command>" - e.g. in this case "default scheduler allocate".
In some cases however this won't work - if the default for a command is
in the process of changing, we will "NVGEN" both the old and new default
values for a couple versions so that customers have an idea that the
defaults are changing.

"scheduler allocate" allows you some measure of control in apportioning
router CPU between interrupt processing vs. process mode. With
"no scheduler allocate", this means that interrupt processing can
use 100% of the CPU and entirely lock out process context activity.

In other words, if your router's bus has something misbehaving on
it, or if your LAN has a bunch of diseased Windows machines that are
spewing traffic, the router can keep 100% busy handling the useless
interrupts and can block you out entirely from doing anything
via TELNET or the console.

As you can see, "no scheduler allocate" is a very foolish setting indeed
- your wizard is quite the silly one. The prudent administrator will
set scheduler allocate to a value that will permit considerable
process context activity in the face of runamok interrupt activity ...
"scheduler allocate 3000 1000" is a typical decent setting.

(Note: some platforms use "scheduler interval" instead of "scheduler
allocate". See: http://www.yqcomputer.com/ #xtocid1811017)

~ btw, is there possible I can clear all the settings I just created with the
~ setup wizard so that I can reconfig it from the very beginning?

Given the evident silliness of your wizard, it does seem prudent to
want to undo his "magic". So:

router#write erase
router#reload

will restore you to factory defaults.

Cheers,

Aaron