Copy user profile to new machine without user logging on first

Copy user profile to new machine without user logging on first

Post by Q2F0ZW1hY2 » Wed, 19 May 2004 00:11:04


Is there a way to copy a domain user's local profile to a new machine, without having the user log on first

Here's the problem - the profile can be copied, but when the user logs on, a new profile with a .domainname extension is created based on the default profile. The profile copied from the old machine is not used.

The result is that our help desk insists on having the user's password in order to log on first as the user, and then copy the old profile over the existing new profile. This works, but it means the user has to give the staff member their password.

Catemaco
 
 
 

Copy user profile to new machine without user logging on first

Post by v-subra » Wed, 19 May 2004 05:12:49


You can try this option but i am not sure about it.
Copy the profile to default user of new machine
when new user login to the system his profile will be copied from default
user
later delete the default user profile ( This is avoide further copying same
profile to other user)

You can think about roming profile.....

Subbu
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.